LAKE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING Thursday, September 29, 2022 – 5:30 PM Holden University Center Room 119

ZOOM Video Conferencing

- I. CALL TO ORDER The Lake County Community College District Board of Trustees regular meeting was called to order by Chair Beverly Vitaz at 5:33 p.m.
- **II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE** Mrs. Vitaz led the Pledge of Allegiance.

HI.	ROLL CALL At the chair's request, roll was taken and the following Trustees were present:		
	Mr. Stephen Ellis	Ms. Janet Majka	
	Mr. Duane Frager	Dr. Kathleen Malec	
	Mr. Matthew Hebebrand	Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli	
	Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler	Mrs. Beverly Vitaz	

Also in attendance were: Dr. Morris W. Beverage Jr., president; Dr. Laura Barnard, executive vice president and provost; Mike Mayher, executive vice president for administrative services and treasurer; Cathy Bush, chief of staff and senior vice president for institutional development and effectiveness; Dawn Plante, chief communications officer and vice president for community and college relations; Greg Sanders, vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of The Lakeland Foundation; Tom Reynolds, associate vice president for business services & deputy treasurer; Dr. Deb Hardy, associate provost for teaching and learning and dean of faculty; Mario Petitti, associate vice president for student development and dean of students; Amy Sabath, director for government relations and nonprofit center; Leah Konopka Hartmann, executive assistant to the president & special project lead; Pam Clark, office manager; and Pam Brown, senior secretary.

IV. MINUTES

A. September 29, 2022 regular meeting

Mrs. Vitaz called for a motion to approve the minutes of the September 1, 2022 regular meeting. Ms. Majka noted that the minutes should be amended to include two additional faculty speakers: Dr. Meryl Soto-Schwartz and Doug Webb. Dr. Malec moved to approve the minutes as amended and Mrs. Kessler seconded the motion, which passed as follows

Mr. Stephen Ellis - yes Mr. Duane Frager - yes Mr. Matthew Hebebrand - yes Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler – yes Ms. Janet Majka - yes Dr. Kathleen Malec - yes Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli - yes Mrs. Beverly Vitaz - yes

V. PARTICIPATION OF THE PUBLIC

Mrs. Vitaz announced that public participants who signed in prior to the start of the meeting can address the board when their name is called. Public participants included: Tobin Terry, Meryl Soto-Schwartz, Mark Guizlo, Lynne Mazeika, Brian Humphrey, Adam Dudziak, Melanie Majikas, and Natalie Hopper.

Participants voiced their opposition regarding the formation of a special trustee-only committee to review the words diversity, equity, and inclusion language in the college's plans and policies and are concerned that removing the terms could pose challenges for the college by putting the institution's accreditation at risk.

Lynne Mazeika and Adam Dudziak also asked that the Board reconsider the resolution extending Dr. Beverage's employment contract with the college.

VI. RESOLUTIONS

Resolution 20-22 - Resolution Amending the Board Policy Manual of Lakeland Community College

Dr. Beverage introduced Resolution 20-22 and recommended its adoption. Mrs. Vitaz asked for a motion to adopt Resolution 20-22. Mr. Ellis moved and Dr. Malec seconded the motion to adopt Resolution 20-22. The motion passed as follows:

Mr. Stephen Ellis - yes Mr. Duane Frager - yes Mr. Matthew Hebebrand - yes Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler - yes Ms. Janet Majka – yes Dr. Kathleen Malec - yes Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli - yes Mrs. Beverly Vitaz - yes

VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There were no items of unfinished business

VIII. NEW BUSINESS

Mrs. Vitaz announced that a special committee will not be appointed until after new Board members are appointed by the governor's office and after the election of new Board officers occurs.

IX. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mrs. Vitaz called for a motion to enter into executive session to discuss details of security arrangements and emergency response protocols for the college. Mr. Hebebrand moved and Dr. Malec seconded the motion, which passed as follows:

Mr. Stephen Ellis - yes	Ms. Janet Majka – yes
Mr. Duane Frager - yes	Dr. Kathleen Malec - yes
Mr. Matthew Hebebrand - yes	Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli - yes
Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler - yes	Mrs. Beverly Vitaz - yes

Mrs. Vitaz indicated that no further college business will be discussed after executive session. The executive session began at 6:09 p.m.

Mrs. Vitaz called for a motion to end the executive session. Dr. Malec moved to end the executive session and resume the open meeting. Mr. Frager seconded the motion which passed as follows:

Mr. Stephen Ellis - yes	Ms. Janet Majka – yes
Mr. Duane Frager - yes	Dr. Kathleen Malec - yes
Mr. Matthew Hebebrand - yes	Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli - yes
Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler - yes	Mrs. Beverly Vitaz – yes

The open meeting resumed at 7:51 p.m.

X. ADJOURNMENT

Mrs. Vitaz called for a motion to adjourn. Mr. Hebebrand moved and Ms. Majka seconded the motion which passed as follows:

Mr. Stephen Ellis - yes Mr. Duane Frager - yes Mr. Matthew Hebebrand - yes Mrs. Ellen Foley Kessler - yes Ms. Janet Majka – yes Dr. Kathleen Malec - yes Mrs. Jerrie Lee Rispoli - yes Mrs. Beverly Vitaz - yes

The meeting adjourned at 7:52 p.m.

APPROVED:

November 3, 2022

LAKE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Board Chair

ATTEST: Board Secretary